The village Lieser is located in the Middle Mosel. The landmark of the wine village dates from 1875, a mighty slate castle, Schloss Lieser. In 1904, adjacent to their ancestral castle, the Barons of Schorlemer built Weingut Schloss Lieser. Its wines were highly esteemed worldwide. After numerous changes in ownership, Thomas Haag was hired to manage the run-down estate. He and his wife Ute were able to purchase it in 1997. On the basis of his many years of experience at his parent’ estate, Weingut Fritz Haag, and lots of hard work, he was able to restore the estate to its former position as one of the most renowned estates on the Mosel. Because each of the estate’s VDP. GROSSE LAGEN – Niederberg Helden in Lieser, and Juffer, Juffer Sonnenuhr and Sonnenuhr in Wehlen – has a distinctive terroir, Haag’s finest wines are marketed with the name of their respective site.